Follow us! Follow us on Twitter! Become a Fan of m2 on Facebook!


The People of m2 ...

Layne Montgomery, Winemaker

Layne Montgomery, m2 winemaker

Layne is the winemaker, general manager and founding partner of m2.

Layne's a native of Springfield, Missouri, living there until age 14, then lived in Little Rock, Arkansas until age 30. His family owns a farm in southwest Missouri that was homesteaded in 1842. It's a long way from a family history and heritage of farming in southwest Missouri to becoming a California winemaker, but it is surprisingly inter-related.

Previous to the creation of m2 his career encompassed 15 years in television broadcasting in Arkansas, Colorado and Arizona, and seven years in marketing communications with nonprofit organizations in the Sacramento area. He is essentially self-taught as a winemaker; learning the craft by doing, through consultation and coaching from professional winemaking mentors and friends, and through courses at UC Davis.

Terry Woodruff, CEO - Ted Woodruff, Financial Officer

Brothers Terry & Ted Woodruff have a broad and unique business profile that includes beginning their business careers in Sacramento in the 1970’s.

From the creation of Bailey Woodruff, Inc, a commercial real estate brokerage company to owner, designer and builder of Fair Oaks Boulevard Nursery in Sacramento, Terry’s business acumen and growth strategies are well known.

Ted, American National Insurance Company Central Valley District Manager, manages over thirty employees.

The brothers manage their own varied investment portfolio that ranges from real estate development to motion pictures, and both are active participants in the day to day operations and growth of the m2 brand; each serving on the m2 Board of Directors.

Other Members of the m2 team ...

Mark Sanford - Assistant Winemaker, Board of Directors

Suzanne Hill - Wine Club Manager/Tasting Room Manager

Karen Montgomery - Secretary, Board of Directors

Steve Stiles - Corporate Pilot, Board of Directors

Brian Pickard - Partner, Board of Directors

Jan Sanford, Barbara Hobson, Pat Woodruff, Ben Hobson, Jesse & Noreen Munoz - Consumer Relations & Ambassadors at Large